Central India, 1857-58

The Indian Mutiny of 1857-59 was a major, but ultimately unsuccessful, uprising in India in 1857–58 against the rule of the British East India Company, which functioned as a sovereign power on behalf of the British Crown. It began as a mutiny on 10 May 1857, in the town of Meerut, and soon erupted into other mutinies and civilian rebellions.

The Honour is borne on the Guidon of the 8th Hussars.


Discover more about the action behind each battle during the Indian Mutiny of 1857-59.